Creating colour

The sun was up early this morning, so I put some wool in my solar ovens. I used my usual natural dye materials; walnut leaves, fennel flowers and leaves, onion skins, and avocado peels.

The onion skins I started the day before.

IMG_0904

IMG_0891-0

IMG_0897

By the end of the day there was a bit of colour showing.

IMG_0915-0

IMG_0917

IMG_0928

Here is some grey yarn I dyed on the weekend with onion skins.

IMG_0908

I will leave the wool in the ovens for another day to deepen the colours, then they will be ready to spin!

One thought on “Creating colour

  1. Isobel says:

    Gorgeous. I may have to start knitting again.

Leave a Reply

