Taking control

With my mother-in-law’s cancer we have been spending a lot of time at the hospital, mostly in waiting rooms. Usually these long waits are because of the hospital or doctor, and there isn’t much we can do. However, sometimes it is because we forgot an exam result, or misunderstood a telephone call. There are so many things to remember and understand, on top of all the stress and fear, that sometimes we make mistakes.

Luckily there are some things that can help, like a healthcare binder. Here is a link with great advice on how to make a binder for a patient.

http://lisabadams.com/2014/10/06/healthcare-binder-tips-organized-patient-caregiver/

And here is one I made earlier for my mother-in-law.

BinderInside the binder there are different sections with small pockets,

Binder2

 

calendars,
Binder3and clear plastic pockets.

Binder

I had to improvise because I couldn’t find all the type of “pockets” I wanted, but I think it will do the job just fine.

 

10 thoughts on “Taking control

  1. Alison says:

    One of many things I miss the NHS for is that I never had to be responsible for my test results. They always just turned up t every appointment. And I had a chemo book that I kept so I also had a note of blood counts and doses. Then when I got herceptin at home, the first nurse brought a binder that would keep eveything in one place and that was what I brought here to Clinica Alemana. I actually found it the other day on a shelf in my sewing room of all places.
    I hope your suegra is doing well, and that she doesn’t have a lot more treatments to get through.

    • Thanks Alison, I think the binder will help us, having everything together. It is a strange system here. Her results are in the hospital, and they can send them by computer internally, but they make you go and pick up the results before your apt, then hand them to your doctor, and they put it into your file, which you can’t touch. This meant we saw her biopsy result before we saw her doctor, and I am not sure that is the best way to learn you are stage 3.

      Luckily my mother-in-law is feeling better, and she has gotten her strength back up, so hopefully she will be ready for chemotherapy soon.

      • Alison says:

        I know, I have a little panic before I look up my mammogram result every year. I really don’t like getting the results myself.
        Hope the chemo isn’t too bad. Mine wasn’t, but every regime is different. Good luck to her.

      • Yes, because my mother-in-law is feeling so good now she thinks the chemo won’t effect her too much, I hope not, because I am not sure if she understands how bad it can be. Since we have not discussed her program with her oncologist, (she is still waiting for results from the cardiologist) I am waiting to see what the oncologist says about side effects and take it from there.

      • Alison says:

        Let her be positive. Self belief goes a long way! And tell her to take all the anti-sickness medication they offer. And rest is the key to everything.

      • Thanks for the advice, hugs.

  2. sweffling says:

    I know from supporting two friends with cancer how complicated the liaising can be: Some kind of folder like this can be invaluable:)

  3. maesprose says:

    The folders are great. Your support for your is incredible. Stay strong.

Leave a Reply

