Sara

Living on a farm with animals means at some time you have to face the death of those animals. Sometimes it is wanted, when meat is needed, and sometimes it is unexpected, like when animals become sick or injured. We have had all of these deaths on our farm, and I have helped in butchering animals as well as having sick animals die in my hands. You can usually see it coming, and I am better prepared than when I first arrived on the farm.

However there is one type of death we rarely see on the farm, and that is from old age. Most of our animals are livestock and not pets. There are a few exceptions, like Sheldon, our goose who we raised from a gosling. And Sara, our goat.

Sara came to the farm as a baby In 2001 when we bought our angora goats. Her mother died shortly after and she became attached to us, especially my oldest daughter. The two of them would play games of chase together. She is always the first to come to say hello and have you scratch her between her horns.

Sara

This year we noticed that her age was starting to show, and we knew that she wouldn’t be around forever. She started to separate herself from the flock and was slow to come in from the fields. Last week she became weak, so we kept her in the corral with her own food where the other goats wouldn’t push her.  She spent most of the time sitting, getting up to eat, and giving me the odd “baaa” when I checked in on her.

However, I knew when I saw her Sunday morning that she was at the end, and was prepared for her death later that day. I knew it was coming, and I knew she was in a better place, (wherever it is that goats go to jump and play in their afterlife), but I wasn’t prepared for how much it would hurt when I covered her grave, knowing I would never see her again. She would have been 12 this year, which is not extremely old for a goat, but was old enough for her.

 

Sara

October 2001 – September 2013

Sara2

 

8 thoughts on “Sara

  1. itwasjudith says:

    I’m really sorry for her departure, I can understand it hurts.. at least she had a happy life and a peaceful end.
    hope she is jumping and playing in goats’ heaven.

    • Thanks. I think part of what I was feeling was seeing her old and how it reminded me of my grandparents in their last years. I know it is a completely natural process, but it is hard to see people you love become frail, knowing what strong people they were.

      • itwasjudith says:

        I totally relate to your words. The last of my grandparents left us last summer, and although this is a very normal stage in life, it may still be a struggle to come to terms with separation.

  2. IsobelandCat says:

    My mother loved goats. They are such clever animals and full of character. i’m glad you loved Sara, and the story of her bond with your elder daughter is lovely. Pets are part of the family; we love them and it hurts when they die. And as you say, it reminds us of the frailty that comes with age in the humans we love too.

  3. Sara says:

    I know this is an old post, but still…(((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

