Maybe mohair

The goats on our farm are not pure bred angoras, but they are the reason I learned to shear, spin, and knit.

Image

The mohair from them is not perfect, and because we have not had any young goats in a few years the mohair isn’t as soft as it could be. However it shines beautifully and the past few weeks I have been dyeing wool and mohair in my solar ovens, as yarn and as un-spun fibre.

ImageI used onion skins, and walnut leaves for the orange and green, then spun the mohair and wool mix on my Ashford Traditional.

I also dyed mohair and wool with avocado skins, which the cats loved.

Pinkwool2

I am planning to blend these together, but first I carded the wool and mohair separately.

Battsandwool

 

The white wool is from our sheep, and the off-white is from the small spots of grey that I occasionally find on the fleece.

Most angora goats can be sheared twice a year, but I am not sure if these goats produce enough hair for shearing twice. However, this year I may try to shear earlier and get a better quality fleece, (these samples are slightly matted). If I leave it too late then the hair starts to matt and comes off by itself.

goatsandsheep

Even though these goats, my “old ladies”, are not pure bred it is nice to know I can still make beautiful objects from their hair.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Maybe mohair

  1. IsobelandCat says:

    Your posts are always such a delight to read, and an important reminder of the important things in life. Thank-you.

  2. Clare says:

    Beautiful. I love seeing your creations and am very much in awe. I like to think of myself as a crafty hippie who would like doing this…. But I think I am best off just reading your blog.

  3. Sara says:

    The first photo looked like a toupee :p What a fun hobby you have.

Leave a Reply

