Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique

Here are some unique yarns, spun by me. The yarn is a mix of mohair, from my semi-angora goats with wool from my sheep. I washed the wool and mohair separately, passed them through my wool picker, and then passed them through the drum carder to blend the two fibres. I spun the wool on my drop spindle and on my wheel.

These photographs show the yarn being dyed in my solar oven with onion skins and walnut tree leaves.

20130203_132228

20130203_132004

 

Yarn

15 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique

  1. Such beautiful colours…and I’m guessing you never get exactly the same result twice…so very unique indeed 😉

    • Yes, that is what I love about natural dyeing and using the sun. Today is cloudy and the colours may not be as strong as the other yarn, but still beautiful.

      • Such a lovely craft. Your post has reminded me about a visit to a wool dyer on the Isle of Harris in the Outer Hebrides of Scotland. It was a very remote place, her wool was amazing, but the midges were very fierce and seemed attracted to the urine she was using as part of her process!! Makes me smile remembering 🙂

      • Glad to make you smile. I have heard of using urine in dyeing, but not tried it yet. hmmmm, I am sure I could get my husband to pee into one of those jars. 🙂

      • Ha ha…he might never forgive me for putting such ideas into your head 🙂

  2. frizztext says:

    nice color synaesthesis between glass and wool …

  3. Solar oven, onion skins, walnut tree leaves…lordy, life is good!

    • It definitely is!

      I use one solar oven only for dyeing, and the other one for cooking. (I used it for dying in these photos because I had a lid on the pot, plus I don’t think onion skins are too dangerous. Most dye books advice you to use separate pots and utensils for cooking and dyeing, and I extend that to my ovens.)

      We have had some really hot sunny days, I should be cooking more with the oven too. It is great for slow cooking.

  4. Sara says:

    Very cool.
    Say, I know someone who is thinking about moving to La Serena from the US. If she writes me back, I’ll send her your way, okay?

  5. Tammie says:

    I love the solar oven!
    I would like to build one for myself. What are the dimensions on the ones pictured?

    • My solar ovens are 60cm wide, 60cm deep, and 48cm tall. We also made larger ovens that were 1m wide, with the other measurements the same. They have inside and outside walls, with scrunched up newspapers inside the walls for insulation. The window is made of two pieces of glass stuck together.

      Hope this information helps!

  6. standgale says:

    That is a fabulous idea for how to get multi coloured wool!

Leave a Reply

