Blogging and farm seasons

One of the nice things about writing a blog is being able to look back and see what was happening in previous years.  It is winter here, but unlike last year we have not had any rain in this part of Chile.  This is very worrying because we live in an agricultural area where the fields rely on water from the canals which come from a reservoir, and it is very low.  No rain during the winter means the summer could be very difficult.

This week I have been looking at our olive tree and decided that this weekend the girls and I would collect olives.  My youngest wiggled her way up the trunk between branches to try and get the highest olives.  We collected more than last year, and in the evening I sat slicing them.

Sajando the olives before putting in salted water.

It took quite a while to do this and my fingers were black and wrinkled by the time I had finished.  But it was definitely worth it.

Olives, and kitties, (they get everywhere)

I wrote about this last year in the fall and fruit of trees.  Looking back on that post I can see that the date was almost the same.  Even though this part of Chile doesn’t have very distinct seasons, plants and animals do have their cycles, and it nice to be a part of them.

6 thoughts on “Blogging and farm seasons

  1. Sara says:

    Once again, I love your cats! Do they eat olives or are they just curious? Adorable.

  2. My daugther’s in-laws are from Lebanon, and my son-in-law grew up (in California) helping his family harvest olives from two trees on their property. He said his paternal aunt (a single woman who lived with them – and still lives with his dad), used to prepare olives the “old way.” She has a “special” rock she uses to crack the olives before putting them into a brine. (The olives look like those big green olives, not black ones.)

    • I have never heard of “cracking” them, here they slice. There is even a special tool which will put multiple slices in the olive. My husbands family have a small olive orchard north of here, here is a photo of the old press they use to make olive oil. I think it is a lot of work but olives and olive oil are yummy, and healthy!

  3. Karen Parr says:

    hi liz, happy to see that the weaving classes at school are going well. i like the pics of my granddaughter … she looks very pretty in the neck warmer!

  4. Shearersgirl says:

    We are having all sorts of weird weather in England, drought and floods depending on where you are. It’s supposed to be hot now but it’s wet and chilly. And we have slugs, they are decimating my allotment. It must be good to grow your own olives!

    • Ugh, slugs! We don’t have many slugs, but a lot of snails. They like to come out in the night and eat the goose food. My girls like them (and I hate killing bugs), but when they get into the vegetables…grrrr!

Leave a Reply

