Grey autumn day

It is cold outside.

It is grey outside.

It is autumn, but we have very few trees here that change colour.

A little colour

Cats are curled up to stay warm.

Two of my too many cats

A grey woven poncho.

Close up of poncho made from woven squares

But all this grey is not stopping me from having fun with my weaving classes. And in June I will start teaching continous weaving at my daughter’s school. I have done this before, but it was mainly to the kids and included the whole wool process. Now it is for the mothers and teachers and will cover just weaving. I had the first meeting this week and there was a good show of people.

This will be a nice way to see how well I can teach in Spanish.  I shouldn’t be too nervous, my daughters have been at this school for over 10 years and I know most of the mothers, so I can focus on the teaching.

So, come on winter and more grey days, I am not afraid.  Perfect for snuggling down with some wool and making friends and family warm with gifts!

Misty morning

7 thoughts on “Grey autumn day

  1. Shearersgirl says:

    I hope the teaching goes well, don’t be nervous, you know more about weaving than they do.

    • I am looking forward to the classes, and the mothers and teachers are very eager to learn, which will make it easier. I have to check on the pronunciation of some of the more technical words in Spanish, because they are not words that everyone uses day to day. (not that I will get too technical, but I think I should cover the basics).

      Thanks for dropping by.

  2. Lovely pictures … we’re wearing sun dresses and sandals. Oh, and sunblock. 🙂

    • Oh, envy! Another month or two and I will be craving some warmth. At least it never gets too cold in this part of Chile, not like in growing up in Colorado and Minnesota!

  3. susana says:

    Su poncho esta quedando hermoso.
    Es verdad el cambio de color de las hojas no es espectacular en el hemisferio sur,Pero en Buenos Aires aun veo arboles en flor ,en pleno otoño.Su vida me parece adorable ,desde que leí sobre su horno solar y como pudo usted involucrarse en ese proyecto ,pienso que conozco muchos lugares que necesitan proyectos como ese y personas como usted.

    • Garcias por su visita y lindas palabras. El proyecto de los hornos solares fue super bueno, como colegio tuvimos suerte en ganar ese proyecto. Es cierto, hay muchos lugares que se pueden beneficiar de este tipo de hornos.

      Hace muchos años visite Argantina, pero por poco tiempo, y fui a las montañas. Escuche que Buenos Aires es bonito, (y es uno sueño mio aprender tango con mi marido 🙂 ).

  4. Sara says:

    I love your cats! Can I have one of your too many cats???

Leave a Reply

