Felted Christmas gifts

As well as spinning, wool can be used for felting and over the past three weeks I have been playing with felt to make scarves for Christmas gifts.  Wet felting is done by criss-crossing layers of wool and then agitating them with soap and water until they form a fabric.  There are books and information on the internet, but this is just an account of how I have been doing my experiments!

Wet felting is usually done on bubble wrap but I used a foam sheet which also works.  It helps to have a large table that you can get wet.  I have been using a merino/silk blend with a contrasting or complimenting colour sandwiched in the middle.  The silk zig-zags across the scarf like lightening.

I start by gently opening the merino/silk top and laying it on the foam.

Merino/silk blend laid out

Then I lay the contrasting colour (shades of blue) at a right angle to the merino/silk.

Depending on how thick I want the scarf I put more or less wool over the merino/silk blend.

When there is enough contrasting colour I lay another strip of merino/silk blend on top.

I then gently pour water and soap over the entire scarf and press it down so that all the wool is wet.

Next I fold the foam over the top and roll the scarf up.

I gently roll and unroll the scarf from both ends.  I work gently, rubbing and turning the scarf until I can feel the fabric forming and the scarf is holding together.  I then lift it off the foam.

And gently scrunch it up to felt it more.  This is where it shrinks the most.

I lay it out to see how the scarf is forming.

And when I am happy I rinse it and let it dry.

Finished lightening scarf.

This one I have made for myself and scarves with different colour combinations for gifts, (in case anyone checks out my blog)!  I like that these are quick to make, (compared to knitting and weaving) and the silk looks spectacular in the sun.

13 thoughts on “Felted Christmas gifts

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    beautiful for gifts

  2. IsobelandCat says:

    Felting is something I’ve been wanting to learn for a while. There’s a woman nearby who runs occasional workshops, but they are always on when I’m away. Is fate trying to tell me something?
    Your scarf is beautiful.

  3. Hi Cita,
    Gorgeous! I haven’t done much of this type of work – I think I see some spring time playing taking shape in my mind! We carry all of that type of roving in the store!

    Thank-you for sharing!

    Lynette

  4. Absolutely gorgeous! And inspiring 🙂

  5. Lindsay says:

    Gorgeous! I love the colours, and the step-by-step photos have inspired me to get some more felting done 🙂

    Also wanted to let you know that you’re my giveaway winner 🙂

  6. […]  Once the wool has been felted it can’t be un-felted.  The scarves I have been making, (see previous post) look really nice, individually. When I look at them all together they make me feel a bit sick, […]

  7. Caroline says:

    This is gorgeous. Its always great to see other people’s work – colours I would never have thought of using but they look amazing! Lovely!

Leave a comment