Weekly Photo Challenge: Textured

This is actually a couple of photos to show how the texture changes when a weaving is “finished”.  The finishing process for many woven pieces is done by agitating the piece in soapy water.  This makes the fibres expand, or full, so they lock together to make a fabric.  (And was a nice idea, but not so great with my phone’s camera!)

Close up of my weaving before fulling

Close up after the shawl has been washed

The weaving started with this wool my father bought in the South of Chile, with some of my hand spun used in the weft.

Hand spun from the South

Loom bought in the South of Chile, (very similar to the Ashford Rigid Heddle)

Close up of the weaving

Shawl off the loom

Before washing the shawl it felt very stiff, but after fulling it was nice and soft.

Shawl after fulling

17 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Textured

  1. Nandini says:

    Really nice way to illustrate “texture”, and that too in different types. Loved it. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. northernnarratives says:

    I love weaving. I know that a camera cannot show the true beauty and texture of weaving 🙂 Judy

    • Thanks. Yes, I have found it difficult sometimes to get good close ups of wooly things. Sometimes my camera doesn’t seem to know where to focus and it can be better to take a picture not so close, then zoom in after.

  3. Patti Kuche says:

    Lovely to see the materials and process involved in producing this lovely shawl!

    • Thanks. My Dad brought me about a kilo of this yarn and I usually knit with thicker yarns, so I thought I would try using it for a weaving. It is not very strong wool, so not great for the warp, but I tend to weave gently.

  4. Robin says:

    That’s very cool. Perfect photos for this week’s challenge, I’d say.

  5. The type of camera can make a difference. Last year I got myself a good digital SLR and I love it. I’m still figuring out everything it does!

    • Definitely agree with you there. I normally use my Dad’s camera, and in the past I have taken some really nice pictures, but recently it doesn’t seem to showing colours true. Especially with my yarns. I try different settings but they all look the same. I may have to go back to old school and program in the light setting’s myself.

      Either way, it has to be better than my phone!

  6. 2e0mca says:

    An fascinating set of shots illustrating pre-industrial weaving. I’d be interested to know what you use for fulling the material as I understand that some (unpleasant to our modern sensibilities) liquids were used in the process?

    • I just use soap and agitation, and changes of hot and cold water. Movement and changes in temperature are the main things that felt fibres.

      I haven’t heard of “unpleasant” liquids used in felting, but have heard of letting a raw sheep fleece soak in dirty water for a long time to clean it. I don’t know the details, but the idea is it breaks down the lanolin. My mother-in-law remembers her mother washing raw fleeces in the ocean, in the waves. And the Mapuches in the South of Chile wash the wool in rivers.

      • 2e0mca says:

        I checked back in one of my books about the Industrial revolution in England and apparently Urine was used in the cleaning process.

      • Lovely…I think that is the idea of leaving the fleece in its own “dirt” for a while. They also used urine to help set natural dyes. I have used natural dyes, onion skins, walnut leaves, but not with urine!

  7. Do you brush after the fulling? My daughter weaves as well and she sometimes will brush her work when she is done. If brings up a wonderful soft nap and halo.

    • I hadn’t thought of that, good idea. Most of my hand spun is not tightly spun so it is quite fluffy without brushing.

      I did a weaving a while ago that had all the bits left over from my hand spun projects, a mix of sheep, mohair and alpaca. Now that it has been knocking around a bit is amazing how some parts are soft, some have a fuzzy halo, some look more like a fabric, some have hardly changed. I will have to put photos up.

Leave a Reply

