Weekly Photo Challenge: Old Fashioned

My spinning wheel is not antique, it is a 30 year old Ashford Traditional.  However, the art of spinning is definitely old fashioned.  Some people see hand spinning as a waste of time, too much work, – old fashioned.  I see it as a connection to the past.  For thousands of years people have been turning fibres into yarn by twisting; I am continuing that same twist over generations and countries.

My Spinning Wheel

There are plenty of photographs of spinning wheels, and I was trying to take a nice picture of mine.  I went outside and took the picture looking in at my wheel.  The window reflected the outside as well as my wheel.

18 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Old Fashioned

  1. frizztext says:

    nice self portrait! don’t get overwhelmed by your wheel: how many hours a week you are together with your spinning wheel?
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/07/08/weekly-photo-challenge-old-fashioned/
    I’ve made a reply there about the topic CANADA – thank you for sharing your stories!
    I’ve subscribed now to your blog!

  2. Thanks! I have two daughters as well as my spinning, so they come first! But they are in school so I have a couple hours a day to either spin, prepare fibre, weave or knit. I would like to teach spinning, but not sure if there is much demand here. There is definitely more interest in natural yarns now compared to 5 years ago, so there might be people who want to learn how it is made.

  3. Patti Kuche says:

    Love your photo and coming back for more!

  4. 2e0mca says:

    Different… Like the way the camera has disappeared in the light of the window 🙂

    • Yeah, I was just trying to get a picture of my wheel, but a bit different. The wheel is pretty but I couldn’t get a nice picture of “just” the wheel. Too many things around it distracted from it, so this way I put myself in as the “distraction”.

  5. When I was a child, that’s sometime back,I can remember my aunt, who lived on the outer isles of Scotland, sitting spinning at night. It always fascinated me how the spinning wheel worked. I like the way you have taken this photograph from outside to include the reflections

    • Before I bought my wheel I tried making one but couldn’t figure out the mechanics of the flyer. I could twist wool, but couldn’t get it to wind on. There are woodworkers here who use drawings and pictures to make looms and wheels, (my husband even made me a loom like that). But I am not sure how easy it is to make a wheel if you don’t spin or have one next to you.

      Thanks for dropping by!

  6. supersnails says:

    What a cool talent to have.

  7. john tugano says:

    i liked it..I don’t know how it turned out to be this good..it seems that you used special effects hehehe..nice photo for the challenge

    • Yeah, the photo surprised me too. I found that if I held my hand in front of the flash as I took the picture it made the reflection of me show up more than the wheel. So I played around with that.

  8. Reiko Tashima says:

    Are you still in Santiago?
    I bought an Ashford Traveller when I moved to Santiago from Houston, Texas though, I am not quite understanding how it works.
    If you have a Workshop here, I love to attend.
    If you can give me private lessons, I love that, too.
    Looking forward to hearing from you.

    • Hello, Thanks for visiting. Unfortunately, I do not live in Santiago, I am about 6 hours north. I think there is an Ashford distributor in Santiago, (costuritas.cl), but I don’t know how helpful they are.

      If you get the chance to come north I might be able to help, even if you can’t bring your wheel.

      Good luck.

  9. Reiko Tashima says:

    Thank you for your reply.
    I will try Consturitas.
    After posting my last message, I fond out that you are living in the Elqui Valley.
    I have visited there last winter, and all my family had great time there.
    It was a beautiful place.
    By the way, have you ever imported 100% wool yarns from U.S. to Chile?
    I wonder whether it is safe thing to do.

Leave a Reply

