Waves moving East, thoughts of sorrow moving West

This morning when we woke up and turned on the radio they were listing the times a possible tsunami would hit different regions of Chile.  We didn’t know why, it was just a list of cities along the coast, North to South.  Including our city.

But we are lucky, we don’t have to panic, we have hours to prepare if need be.  However my first reaction was, lets keep the girls at home today.

“Awww, Mom, you always worry,”  said my oldest, “And my school is higher than here.”

In case I thought I could talk her out of it the President made a speech. He told everyone to remain calm, go to school and work as normal, but keep listening for updates.

So that is what I have been doing all morning.  Listening to the radio as it tracks the movement of energy across the ocean.  Watching on the internet and TV the images from Japan, which are breaking my heart.

They are showing nothing else here. Chile is a country that feels deeply the effects of nature and sympathises wholly with what is happening.   Chile just “celebrated” the first anniversary of the February 2010 earthquake, (with added earthquakes in case anyone wanted to forget), so people are nervous.

Friday’s are half days and my girls have lunch at home.  I like the feeling of having them both at home.  Not quite the weekend, but we all know it is almost here.  I make a nice lunch, we talk and watch TV or make things, its like a rainy day.

Today I will hold them closer.

Because I can.

Because it is so easy to loose everything.

One thought on “Waves moving East, thoughts of sorrow moving West

  1. karen parr says:

    Nicely written liz …

Leave a Reply

